chinese medicines
green medicine
by specific condition
how it's done
listening & smelling
chinese medicine
causes of disharmony
the meridian system
the five elements
vital substances
yin yang theory
zangfu organs
tai chi





Zangfu is the term used to describe various yin and yang organs in the body. A yin organ is called a Zang, while a yang organ is called a Fu. Although the organs are identified by their western anatomical names, Traditional Chinese medicine views their function on a far broader scope, due in part to the concepts of qi, and essence, their flow, and storage responsibilities.

The twelve organs of chinese medicine, which correspond to the twelve meridians, or channels within the body, are classified according to the functions of transformation (yin organs), or transportation (yang organs).

The Zang is made up of the six solid (yin) organs:

  • heart
  • pericardium (sac surrounding the heart)
  • lungs
  • spleen
  • liver
  • kidney

The Fu consists of the six hollow (yang) organs:

  • small intestine
  • triple warmer (an organ function)
  • stomach
  • large intestine
  • gallbladder
  • urinary bladder


Related Topics

the meridian system

the five elements
the vital substances



back to top

view recent articles

2001/2011 A World of Health Network - All Rights Reserved.

The information provided on this site is provided for educational purposes only, and is not intended as medical advice. Should you have any serious health concerns, you should always check with your health care practitioner before self-administering any natural remedy.

health products